Spam problems

Every morning, when I open my email at work, I have received over 100 spam messages. I’ve made rules that move the stuff to another folder pretty reliably. I’m able to process the spam in less than 5 minutes, but I’ve often wondered why spammers would keep doing it when everybody knows their messages are bogus.

Apparently, not everybody knows, according to this Wired article. If the spammers are able to be this successful, I can understand the lure. This is simply another example of how the many are affected by the actions of the few.

  1. #1 by AndTheISPsToo! on August 6, 2003 - 10:32 am

  2. #2 by hurcane on August 6, 2003 - 12:18 pm

    Yes. It’s a lot like the mob. If you spread the wealth around, people tolerate you a litle more.

Leave a Reply

