Strange ice formation

A couple weeks ago, while walking near the back of the house, I noticed an odd ice formation. It had formed underneath the exhaust pipe from our furnace. I took a few pictures. Here is the best of them.
View image

This week, I noticed that the ice formation had grown. Here’s one view.
View image

And here’s a view from the side.
View image

My wife couldn’t stop laughing for almost five minutes when I pointed this out to her. Sadly, the freezing rain that we have had has deformed the ice, and I don’t think it will ever return to its former shape without some unnatural assistance.

  1. #1 by Nik Shenoy on January 30, 2004 - 4:36 pm

    That’s too funny!

  1. 2004: A Kitchen Odyssey

Leave a Reply

