Some site changes

I’ve configured mod_perl on the box that hosts this blog. That took quite a while, which explains the time of this post. But, the results will be worth it, I think. Adding a new entry is so much faster than before. I hope comments will pop up more quickly, too.

One of the frustrations I had is that every Perl module I install creates directories with the permissions set to 700. This prevents any user other than the owner from being able to search the directory. I have to manually find all the directories created in the perl library and issue a ‘chmod 755’.

If I could figure out a way for the directories to default to 755, that would have saved me four hours of time. Even a script that “fixes” the directory settings within a tree would be very helpful. Are there any bash script kiddies who could help me out?

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

