Grouping applications

Rory writes about 3D desktops. I agree with the arguemnts that he makes about this idea. It probablly won’t catch on.

However, Rory adds a little extra note:

Why don’t we allow users to group applications?

If you read the post, Rory goes on to describe how he would implement the grouping of applications. Again, I agree with Rory. This would be a great feature. In fact, this feature was one of the reasons that I used OS/2 for several years. What Rory describes was called Work Area Folders, and I liked them a lot.

I really do miss it sometimes in Windows. I especially miss it when I want to debug our COM+ applications with our client application. Now I have to open each project separately. It would be nice if I could click on one folder and have all the projects open up automatically. We have 12 different COM+ applications that interact. You can’t debug them in a group. They have to be in different instances of the IDE.

Rory’s idea is good, but it is not new. I wonder if Rory knows that he won’t be able to patent it?

  1. #1 by Rory on February 8, 2005 - 6:39 pm

    I have no interest whatsoever in patents 🙂

    I just want a better tech life for people, and to me that means simplicity, less headaches, and pleasure rather than apprehension when using PCs.

    Patents largely piss me off. At heart, I’m very much a tech-hippie.

Leave a Reply

