Kid’s Programming Language

As a teenager, I learned to program on a TRS-80 Color Computer I. It came with a great guide to learning basic programming skills. We used the Extended Color Basic programming language, which was just a re-labeled version of Microsoft Basic.

When I was in high school in the 80s, the programming classroom had mostly Apple II+ computers and a few Apple IIe computers. The Apples at school had floppy drives, but I only had a cassette drive on the CoCo. I still tried out every program from school at home, though. I used a lot of paper and re-typed all my code. It was especially interesting to translate the graphical programs between the two systems.

Today, we have the Kid’s Programming Language. It purports to provide a language that is more fun for kids to learn to program. I can see the appeal of being able to quickly create some graphical games. What is wrong with Logo, though? Back in the day, Logo was the language for kids that was supposed to be fun for kids to learn because it let us make graphics really easily. We had the Logo language on a cartridge for the CoCo. I guess Logo is too primitive for today’s kids.

Now I feel old.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

