Using Tracepoints in VB.NET

I recently ran across Kate Gregory’s post on tracepoints. She’s a C# person, but this technique works in Visual Basic.NET, too.

I did have a problem getting the results to print in my Debug window, as Kate shows on her post. VB.NET has an option to send Debugging information to the Immediate Window, rather than to the Output window. Until I knew this, I was looking for the information in the wrong place.

To change this behavior, select Tools -> Options from the menu. Make sure “Show all settings is checked”. The Debugging/General node has an option, “Redirect all Output Window text to the Immediate Window.” I have turned this option off, as I never use the Immediate Window in VB.NET.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

